What's the Difference Between an Autosave and a Backup?
If you're wondering what the autosave feature does on your server and how you can get started with backups, you're in the right place.
❓ What Is the Autosave Feature ❓
First off, all of our Vanilla servers come with a feature called autosave enabled by default.
This feature is built into your Multicraft control panel, so every server has these features as we issue every server with a Multicraft control panel.
Autosaves are saving your actual in-game world to your world folder periodically overwriting the old version of the files. Because this process overwrites the files, autosaves are not backups as you can't use them to restore a previous version of your world.
💾 What Is the Backup Feature 💾
Backups are not the same as autosaves. They are used to restore your world to a previous point.
Here is our guide for making a backup.
In few words, a backup compresses your world files into a specific .zip file, which is placed in your main FTP directory (root directory) so you can restore your world whenever you need it.
Here is our guide for restoring a backup.
📝 Difference Between an Autosave and a Backup 📝
The main difference between an autosave and a backup is that you cannot revert back to an autosave as it is just the Multicraft function that is overwriting the world so your server can keep up with your in-game progress.
If you find any issues regarding autosaves or backups please contact us on live chat or via the ticket system.
❕ Useful Links ❕
- How to Connect to Your Server Using FileZilla
- Creating an Automatic Backup Task
- How to Add an Icon to Your Minecraft Server
Updated on: 04/27/2021